Rule Corrections, Additions, and Revisions for WIZARDS
© 2003 by Coral J. F. Mosbø & Thomas J. Mosbø  +  Wyndstar +  England


Brief History: WIZARDS as Created and Designed by Coral J. F. Mosbø and Thomas J. Mosbø  and was Published by the Avalon Hill Game Company of Baltimore, Maryland USA in 1982.  It was Released to the general public on the 29th of January 1983. After about a decade, Avalon Hill destroyed any remaining copies of our game which they were in possession of, and no longer carry or sell our unique High Fantasy board-game.



1.  Correction to the Hamdrel's Gifts - Rank 4 Chart:  This chart also applies to players before they have a Mentor, who are therefore Rank 0 ( or Level 0).  The reason for this is that Hamdrel is trying to facilitate the player who does not yet have a Mentor to meet a High Wizard (since she is a Wise Woman, she has close contact with all the Wizards). This rule does not appear on the Score Sheet Charts but does appear in the Rulebook on page 7, section 7.353.


2.  Revision to the Hamdrel's Gifts - Rank 4 Chart:  On a roll of 1 or 2, instead of no gift being given (as is stated on the Score Sheet and in the Rulebook on page 7, section 7.353), we have changed this rule to:  A High Wizard is summoned to Hamdrel's Cottage where the player has an immediate encounter with that Wizard.  Draw as many Wizard Cards as necessary until a High Wizard is drawn, ignoring all Traps and Phantasms (each player at Hamdrel's Cottage will also automatically encounter that Wizard at the same time). 


3.  Correction to the Traps Chart:  On a die roll of 5, the player remains in the space until he rolls a 5 or 6 for his movement roll.  After doing so, he may move immediately on this turn the five or six spaces as indicated by the "freeing" die roll.  This rule is stated incorrectly on the Score Sheet Chart, but is appropriately implied in the Rulebook on page 11, section 8.3. 


4.  Addition to the Dragon's Lair rules (found on page 16, sections 12.5 to 12.52): If the player encounters a High Wizard in the Dragon's Lair, he should move his Lair Time Marker back to the day prior to where the Day Marker currently is (as if he had just entered the Lair). In this way, the High Wizard's benevolent powers can help the payer to stave off becoming Dragonbound (caused by remaining in the Lair too long). 


5.  Addition to the Evil Attack rules (found on page 16, sections 12.1 to 12.5):  On the last day of the Fortnight (day 14 of a Successful Evil Attack), if the Dragon is not in his Lair (due to a player having summoned him out on an Animal Encounter), whichever Territory the Dragon is on when the Attack strikes will automatically be taken over by Evil that day, ignoring the usual order of the Common, Elven, or Magic sequence.  Therefore, if the Dragon is on the Sacred Circle when an Evil Attack occurs, for instance, the game will automatically be over (won by the Evil)! [This can easily be avoided by either not taking the risk of summoning an Animal on or near the last day of the Fortnight (especially if you are on the Sacred Circle), or  if the Dragon is already out of his Lair, by attempting to return him there by entering the Dragon's Lair Territory (at which point the Dragon is automatically summoned back to the Lair). 


6.  Addition to the Evil Attack rules regarding Tasks (found on page 16, section 12.43): When a Task is lost due to the Evil taking over a Territory where one of the Task Markers was placed, all the remaining Task Markers which applied to that Task are removed from the board and are replaced by Demon Markers (thus adding to the negative effects of the player not completing his appointed Tasks). 


7.  Addition to the Evil Attack rules regarding Wizards (found on page 16, section 12.42):  If one or more Wizards are up on the board when a Successful Evil Attack occurs, the Territories that the Wizards are on will be harder for the Evil to take over.  Each Wizard will counteract (or cancel out) one Task or Demon Marker on the specific Territory that he is on.  If there are no Task or Demon Markers on any of the Territories due to be taken over by Evil (in sequence) on Day 14 of a Successful Attack, but one or more Wizards are on these Territories, then the Territories that have Wizards will be spared over those that do not. In this way, each High Wizard on any given Territory is counted up for his positive effects on the Evil Day, just as the Task and Demon Markers on any given Territory are counted up for their ill effects.  However, if a Wizard is on a Territory which is in sequence to be taken over, and all the above conditions have been met, but that Territory still has the least strength (or is the last of its category in sequence) even the Wizard cannot prevent this Territory from being taken over by Evil.  So, as the Territory flips to the dark side, his Wizard Marker would be removed from the board, and his Card returned to the Wizard Deck and reshuffled in the usual way. 


8.  Revision of the Demon Dazed rules in regard to Movement on Water (found on page 10, section 7.3043-e):  As opposed to moving only one space per two movement points, as is done on Mountain spaces, we have changed this rule to: On Water, the Demon Dazed player moves the die roll indicated (one space for each movement point). [However, all land movement is still one space per two points, as is correctly stated in the Rulebook.]  


9.  Addition to the Evil Attack rules regarding Boats (found on page 16, section 12.141), and the Demons rules (found on page 9, sections 7.304 to 7.3041): If a Demon is in a Boat, as long as that Demon is present, the Boat will only be able to move one space for each movement point (as if the Boat itself were Demon Dazed), even if the player travelling on it is not Demon Dazed. 


10. Correction: There are several places in the Rulebook (and on several Task and Event Cards) where it states, "…except for any part of the Sacred Circle."  This is incorrect, and every place that this statement appears, it should correctly read: "…except on any Stone (or the Center) of the Sacred Circle."  Random Encounters and such do happen on the plain spaces of the Sacred Circle (and of the Sorcerer's Towers). 


11. Revision to the Star Crest Chart (found on the Score Sheet and in the Rulebook, on page 8, section 7.37):  A Rank 4 level for Star Crest should be added for a die roll of 1 or 2, in which instead of receiving points (which do not benefit a player on the top Level), the player would meet TWO High Wizards of their choice, including any High Wizards present on the board or from those still in the Wizard Cards Deck.  However, if the player selects a Wizard from the board, that Wizard (or those Wizards) would be reshuffled back into the Wizard Card Deck and their Marker removed from the board.  [However, Rank 4 Sorcerer's can choose only ONE High Wizard (from the board or Wizard Card Deck) on a die roll of 1 or 2.]


12. Revision to the rules for the Order of Druids (found on page 14, section 10.13): When a player advances to being a Priest (Rank 2), an additional ability to facilitate his ease in getting onto a Sacred Circle Stone is added to his Spell:  Stone Energy - This Spell may be cast when a player is adjacent to (or on) a Sacred Circle Stone, and wishes to get onto the Stone of their choice.  The player can move onto a Stone with a Movement Roll of any of the adjacent Stone numbers to the Stone that the player is adjacent to.  [For example:  If the player is on a purple space between Stones 1 and 2 of the Sacred Circle (A2), that player can get onto Stone 1 with a Movement Roll of 1 or 6, or onto Stone 2 with a Movement Roll of 2 or 3. Or, if the player is on Stone 4 (B5), that player can move onto Stone 3 with a Movement Roll of 2 or 3, or can move onto Stone 5 with a Movement Roll of 5 or 6.]  However, if the player is Transported to a Stone of the Sacred Circle (either by a Spell, or by chance), it must be to the exact Stone number of their Movement Roll die number.


13. Revision to the rules for the Order of Sorcerers (found on page 13, section 10.12): When a player advances to the top Level of Sorcerer (Rank 4), they can meet High Wizards in the open (or on Special spaces such as the Star Crest) only if TWO or more High Wizards are present on the same space.  However, since one of the High Wizards is used as a voucher of that player's good intent, only ONE High Wizard will offer his gem (or TWO if three Wizards are encountered on the same space, etc.).  The High Wizard which the Sorcerer player would meet would be determined by a die roll.  On a roll of 1-3, the highest Wizard would be met, on a roll of 4-6, the lesser Wizard would be met (in order of Ishkatar being the highest Wizard, and Veldor being the lowest).  In addition, a Sorcerer player (Rank 4) can also meet a High Wizard if he is met on the same space along with any other player on the top Level (Rank 4).  Once again, the companion Rank 4 player is used to vouch for the Sorcerer player's good intent, and the two (or more) players each would encounter the High Wizard (or Wizards) present on that space.  This same rule also applies to Hamdrel's Cottage, in which Hamdrel vouches for the Rank 4 Sorcerer player, even if no other players are present in her dwelling when a High Wizard is summoned.  However, the encounter must be with Hamdrel (in the center Cottage space), not just on a Woods space of her Territory. 


14. Addition to the rules for being Stranded (found on page 9, sections 7.3031 to 7.30311):  A player may also declare himself Stranded if they feel it is too difficult to get from wherever they are currently positioned on the Islands (or Water space) to their intended destination (due for instance, to the Dragon's Lair being the only connecting link, or whatever).  However, once a player declares himself to be Stranded, even if that player manages to get out of trouble on their own, the first payer to encounter that once Stranded player will get the points for rescuing that person from wherever they are currently encountered (see 7.3031), and the once Stranded person will then be Transported to a new destination, which must be on a different Island from the one they were found on (see 7.30311), unless of course, there is only one Island in the game set-up.  [Note: a Territory which has been taken over by Evil (which has been turned over to the dark side) can separate another Territory from the rest of the Island which it had once been connected to, causing it to become like an individual Island, and should be treated as a separate Island (along with any other adjacent Territories connected to it, which are also cut off).]